Facebook just announced a new feature for disappearing messaging, dabbed ‘Vanish Mode’.
The new Snapchat-like feature will be available for Messenger and Instagram, allowing users to set chats to automatically delete after the message is seen and the window is closed.
The feature was initially announced as part of its September redesign of Messenger and will allow users to send texts, photos, voice messages, emoji, and stickers that vanish instantly. On the initial chat using the feature, a screen will appear explaining how Vanish Mode works.
Keep in mind that unlike Snapchat, the Vanish Mode is not a default setting, but one that gets enabled in an existing chat by swiping up on the screen while in the chat. Moreover, when someone takes a screenshot of the conversation the user will be alerted.
Blocking and reporting are also supported in the Vanish Mode, and the disappearing messages will be included for up to 1 hour after they disappear. Of course, users get to choose if entering a Vanish Mode chat, and it only works with people you are connected to, while the “Turn Off Vanish Mode” button gets you out of the chat.
Vanish Mode is already available for Messenger in the US, to arrive for Instagram and other countries in the upcoming future.