Misc

Flickr Will Have A 1,000 Photo Limit As Of March, Will Delete Any Extra Photos

flickr-new-photo-limit
Loic Venance/AFP/Getty Images

Flickr has announced that it will start limiting its users to a free storage of 1,000 photos, instead of the 1TB (around 200,000 to 500,000 photos) per user that the platform previously allowed.

The shift was explained by Flickr’s Vice-President of Product Andrew Stadlen in a blog post where he stated that the 1TB offer only “attracted members who were drawn by the free storage, not by engagement with other lovers of photography. This caused a significant tonal shift in our platform,” he went on to say “away from the community interaction and exploration of shared interests that makes Flickr the best shared home for photographers in the world.

Flickr will start deleting photos from the accounts that have surpassed the new limit of 1,000, starting with the oldest photographs.

Initially, Flickr intended to start the clean-up process yesterday, but, because of the feedback from users who experienced problems downloading their photos, the deadline was changed to March 12th.

If you have a Flickr account with over 1,000 photos on it, you have about a month to start backing them up – the process is easy and pretty straightforward.

All you have to do is go to your Flickr account, find the Settings, then Your Flickr Data, click on Request my Flickr data and you should have a big zip file waiting for you in the email associated with the account in more or less a couple of hours.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top