Watch Live: Edward Snowden Launches Global Encryption Day
edward snowden
Security

Watch Live: Edward Snowden Launches Global Encryption Day

Privacy experts, civil society organizations and tech companies are launching Global Encryption Day and using Edward Snowden, the world’s most famous whistleblower, as a spokesperson.

A consortium of privacy and security experts are launching today a campaign to inaugurate Global Encryption Day, a holiday that will hopefully promote strong encryption and security practices.

Edward Snowden, the whistleblower who revealed the extent of NSA surveillance even on regular citizens, is now a board member of the Freedom of the Press Foundation and hosted the opening ceremony today at 6am PT / 9am ET / 2pm BST / 3pm CET.

“If you weaken encryption, people will die. This year alone, after the fall of the government of Afghanistan, we saw how crucial encryption is in keeping ordinary people safe. The Covid pandemic brought home how essential encrypted messaging apps on our smartphones are for communicating with loved ones if we’re ill and need help… It would have been impossible for me to whistleblow without encryption,” he said in a statement.

An U.S-U.K Treaty Will Constrain Facebook To Share Encrypted Messages With The English Police

His sentiment was echoed by Jimmy Wales, founder of Wikipedia, who said that “protecting strong encryption is essential for protecting the human rights of millions of people around the world” and that “Weakening encryption puts us all at risk.”

With hackers taking advantage of everyone’s increased online presence and governments grabbing every chance to spy on citizens worldwide, it’s hard to understand the importance of having encrypted communication.

You can watch the event below and see what the top security experts recommend.

With  

You can watch the event below.

Facebook Messenger and Instagram Will Not Support End-to-End Encryption Any Time Soon

Subscribe to our website and stay in touch with the latest news in technology.

Watch Live: Edward Snowden Launches Global Encryption Day
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top